Public cemeteries in Victoria are governed by cemetery trusts. Victorian cemetery trusts are divided into Class A and Class B trusts. Class A cemetery trusts have greater financial responsibilities with corresponding reporting and accountability requirements, and govern the larger public cemeteries. The trust members of Class A cemetery trusts are remunerated for their services, while Class B trust members are volunteers.

The current Class A cemetery trusts are:

  • Ballarat General Cemeteries Trust
  • Bendigo Cemeteries Trust
  • Geelong Cemeteries Trust
  • Greater Metropolitan Cemeteries Trust
  • Southern Metropolitan Cemeteries Trust.

All other cemetery trusts in Victoria are Class B cemetery trusts. There are currently 491 Class B cemetery trusts in Victoria.

This section provides information for both Class A and Class B cemetery trusts concerning financial management, governance and operations.

Contact details