The legislative requirements for possession and use of Schedule 4 and Schedule 8 medicines for registered health practitioners are defined by the Drugs, Poisons and Controlled Substances Act 1981 and the Drugs, Poisons and Controlled Substances Regulations 2006.

The health practitioners covered in this section include:

  • dentists, dental hygienists, dental therapists and oral health therapists
  • optometrists, authorised optometrists and orthoptists 
  • podiatrists and authorised podiatrists
  • veterinary practitioners.

Practitioners may have different legislative requirements and responsibilities, and different lists of approved medicines, depending on their profession and scope of practice.

Contact details