Key messages

  • An authorised analyst is a person authorised to carry out analyses for the purposes of the Food Act 1984 (the Act).
  • Analysts test food samples taken by Victorian Councils to ensure that food is safe and suitable for consumption and has been handled correctly.
  • A certificate of analysis, signed by an authorised analyst, can stand alone as sufficient evidence in a prosecution taken against a food business under the Act.

Section 30 of the Act provides that the Secretary of the Department of Health and Human Services may authorise appropriately qualified persons to carry out analyses for the purposes of the Act. The secretary must maintain a list of authorised analysts, which is publicly available. The list of authorised analysts in Victoria is provided below.

The roles and responsibilities of authorised analysts are set out under section 31 of the Act. The primary responsibility is to test food samples taken in accordance with the Act by local council environmental health officers.

Analysts must be suitably qualified but must also have the ability to determine the appropriate analyses to be conducted on any food submitted, and to interpret and report the results in terms of compliance with Food Standards Australia New Zealand Code (the Code) or the Act. This requires a sound knowledge of the requirements set out in the Code, and the requirements and offences set out in the Act. Information about becoming an authorised analyst is provided in the document: Guide for potential food analysts: How to apply for authorisation as an analyst under the Food Act 1984.

Authorised analysts play an important role in monitoring the safety, composition and truth in labelling of foods. Analyses are conducted to determine compliance with the Act and the Code (information on the Code is provided separately on this site).

Tests may include an assessment of:

  • food handling practices
  • microbiological safety
  • chemical residue levels
  • compliance with the mandatory declaration of allergens
  • composition, including the accuracy of label statements or claims (for example, nutrition information or ingredient lists)
  • a consumer complaint that a food is unsafe or contaminated

Applying to be authorised as an analyst

For information about how to apply for authorisation to be a food analyst, please see the document: Guide for potential food analysts: How to apply for authorisation as an analyst under the Food Act 1984.

Authorised food analysts

Authorised analyst Contact details Authorisation

Kashif Ahmed

Symbio Laboratories

kahmed@symbiolabs.com.au

Microbiological analyses of food, substances and articles.

Neil Bartlett

Food Laboratories

neil@foodlabs.com.au

Microbiological analyses of food, substances and articles

Zivka Cholich

Chr Hansen Pty Ltd

auzich@chr-hansen.com

Microbiological analyses of food, substances and articles

Dean Clarke

NMI

dean.clarke@measurement.gov.au

Microbiological and allergenic/immunological analyses of food, substances and articles

Kathleen Cleary

DTS Food Laboratories

kcleary@dtsfoodlabs.com.au

Microbiological analyses of food, substances and articles

Christine Cooke

ALS Environmental

christine.cooke@alsglobal.com

Microbiological analyses of food, substances and articles

Leonard Davies

DTS Food Laboratories

ldavies@dtsfoodlabs.com.au

Chemical and physical analyses of food, substances and articles

Doreen Fernandez  Agrifood Technology 
Doreen.Fernandez@agrifood.com.au
Chemical analyses of food, substances and articles 

Matthew Greacen

matthew@indoorbiologicalsolutions.com

Microbiological analyses of food, substances and articles

Abraham Gut

Microbiological Diagnostic Unit

Abraham.gut@unimelb.edu.au

Microbiological analyses of food, substances and articles

Georgia Hamilton

Microbiological analyses of food, substances and articles

Selena Heaton

Microbiological Diagnostic Unit

sheaton@unimelb.edu.au

Microbiological analyses of food, substances and articles

Lee Kennedy

DTS Food Laboratories

lkennedy@dtsfoodlabs.com.au

Chemical and physical analyses of food, substances and articles

My-Yen Lam-Menz

Chemical and physical analyses of food, substances and articles

Emilie Lew

DTS Food Laboratories

elew@dtsfoodlabs.com.au

Microbiological analyses of food, substances and articles

Paul Lawicki

DTS Food Laboratories

plawicki@dtsfoodlabs.com.au

Chemical and physical analyses of food, substances and articles

Julie Maczuga

DTS Food Laboratories

jmaczuga@dtsfoodlabs.com.au

Microbiological analyses of food, substances and articles

Joe Matera

ALS

Joe.Matera@alsglobal.com

Microbiological analyses of food, substances and articles

Vivienne Matthews

DTS Food Laboratories

vmatthews@dtsfoodlabs.com.au

Microbiological analyses of food, substances and articles

Ailsa McDermid

DTS Food Laboratories

amcdermid@dtsfodlabs.com.au

Microbiological analyses of food, substances and articles

Neil Menz

Chemical, physical and microbiological analyses of food, substances and articles

Graeme Perret

Chemical, microbiological and physical analyses of food, substances and articles

Stefan Pittari

OMIC

stefan@omicaustralia.com.au

Chemical and physical analyses of food, substances and articles

Bina Rajesh

DTS Food Laboratories

brajesh@dtsfoodlabs.com.au

Microbiological analyses of food, substances and articles

Melissa Richardson

OMIC

melissa@omicaustralia.com.au

Microbiological analyses of food, substances and articles

Agnes Tan

tanagnes7@gmail.com

Microbiological analyses of food, substances and articles

John Ward

Chemical, physical and microbiological analyses of food, substances and articles

Judy Zhang  DTS Food Assurance
jzhang@dtsfoodassurance.com.au
Microbiological analyses of food, substances and articles

Contact details